## Governing Board Resolution Hamilton High School Tennis Courts Named in Honor of Coach Phil Gonzales

Phil Gonzales has dedicated thirty-eight years of teaching and coaching in the Chandler Unified School District. His career included working at Willis Junior High School, Bogle Junior High School, Chandler High School, with the past twenty-four years at Hamilton High School. Phil's love of coaching tennis has produced many individual and team champions setting the stage for a tradition of success which continues in the Hamilton program today.

Phil Gonzales is the recipient of several coach of the year awards, regional championships, six sectional championships, seven Final Four State finishes, team state runners up, and back-to-back state doubles championships. This resume of program support led to Phil's induction into the Chandler Sports Hall of Fame in February of 2022.

The Hamilton High School tennis program, under the direction of Coach Gonzales, has grown to be one of the most respected and successful high school tennis programs in the state. Coach Gonzales began his early career coaching the girls tennis teams at Chandler High School in 1984 and has built his CUSD career with the foundations of skill development and competition. Coach Gonzales brings yet another aspect to the courts – the fun and excitement of the game of tennis. His quiet, unassuming demeanor engages student athletes, and his love for the game of tennis is only surpassed by his dedication to youth. Coach Gonzales is fiercely competitive, as are his teams, but it is handled with dignity and integrity. Phil Gonzales has created a landscape of high levels of engagement, high quality sportsmanship and success across the Hamilton High School tennis program.

Therefore, in appreciation of Coach Phil Gonzales and his commitment to tennis in the Chandler Unified School District, we request the Governing Board name the tennis facility at Hamilton High School in honor of Phil Gonzales, as presented by Superintendent Franklin R. Narducci on June 8, 2022.

Barbara Mozdzen, President	Jason Olive, Vice President
Lara Bruner, Member	Lindsay Love, Member
Joel Wirth, Member	